What Is The Easter Labyrinth?

If you have never visited a Labyrinth before, don't worry. Unlike a maze there are no dead ends, and you cannot get lost. This labyrtinth is based on a design which originally came from a fountain in Damascus. The pathway leads you to the middle of the building and a different way back out again so you do not need to retract your steps.

The Easter Labyrinth consists of twelve 'stations' designed to help you to pray, think, and meet God. On arrival you will find a printed guide - simply walk through the palm-lines archway and along the paths in the Labyrinth, following the instructions in the guide at each numbered station:

      1. Palms
      2. "Take this cup from me!"
      3. God in chains
      4. Pilate avoids the issue, letting Jesus die
      5. A scarlet robe and a crown of thorns
      6. Heavy loads
      7. The Cross
      8. "Father forgive them, they don't know what they are doing"
      9. Unless a seed...
      10. The stone the builders threw away
      11. The body in the tomb
      12. Footprints of the risen Christ

You don't have to do anything that you feel uncomfortable with, and you are free to miss out stations if you wish. Take the walk at your own pace, but please try not to disturb others who may be deep in prayer.

We look forward to welcoming you to our 2004 Easter Labyrinth...

Shefford Churches Working Together

Close Window

sm3a Home Page

St Michael & All Angels Parish Church • High Street • Shefford • Bedfordshire • SG17 5DD • UK
Copyright © St Michael & All Angels Church, Shefford, 2002 - 2018
All Rights Reserved